Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums  

Go Back   Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums > The Hobby Room > The Workbench

Notices

Unread January 12th, 2014, 01:39 PM
Trust me, I'm an engineer

Default GWH F-15B

Well, this highly anticipated kit has been discussed at length on ARC and here, and I thought a build thread might be of interest. When seeing the first CAD renderings, I thought of the possibility of building an early B using my "Candy Cane Eagles" sheet from Two-Bobs. Both the Air Superiority Blue and the Ferris camo would be attractive colour schemes that you don't see modelled very often. Some of the issues would take a lot of work to correct, so I'm not seeking out to fix everything. The nose was a given, but changing the crossection would involve a bit of remodelling and rescribing of very fine detail, hoping instead that GWH will fix that for later releases. For that reason, building the candy-striped aircraft on the sheet (which should be ASB, and not Compass Grey regardless of what the Two-Bobs instructions say) might highlight the issues in this area, so Ferris scheme and 73-111 it was. The Plan B would be to use the Israeli option on the decal sheet.

To make this kit a proper B, the fairing behind the airbrake must be modified. The kit has the Y-shaped fairing that is found on the C/D/E (and apparently the very last As and Bs). I chiselled away features of the Y-fairing to make room for pieces of plasticard to define the border of the new fairing. Any gaps will be dealt with later.

Another feature of this early aircraft was the strake on the airbrake. This was added from 50 mm long strip of 0.25 mm plasticard and roughly sanded to shape. It may still need some refining, but I will do that later. The raised dot to the right of the airbrake is (probably) a GPS antenna that needs to be removed for this 1977-period Eagle.

Another feature that should be removed is the raised detail on the stabs.