Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums  

Go Back   Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums > Group Builds > Centennial of Naval Aviation GB > Project Threads

Notices

Unread February 14th, 2011, 11:12 AM

Default TA-4J cammo--AB decals--Eduard

Hey all,

I thought Id post a thread as I painted this baby up. This is my first time using blu-tack.. Usualy I freehand cammo like this, but I wanted some good tight lines and I had to have the alignment of the paint PERFECT for the multi-color decals. So, a combonation of blu-tack strings, paper masks, and tape...and oh, about 5-6 hours of time to mask it all off!

This is mostly for the dark tan (next color), but I did some of the greens as well if they were over the light tan. Less to do later...

hopefull color will go on within the next couple of days...I dont want to leave that blu tack on there too long.

comments welcome
Andy

Unread February 16th, 2011, 11:50 AM

2nd color put on last night...Dark Tan

and now to mask for the Medium Green areas..

I forgot to stick this one in...I ended up mixing my own color for the base tan, using Model Master Radome Tan and a few drops of Military Brown. Pretty darn close match to the decals...though I think the decals are just a tad darker. Next time ill put in another drop of Mil Brown.

Hopefully Med green goes on tonight! and maybe even the dark green!
Andy
Unread February 17th, 2011, 09:24 AM

took another 2 hours to mask off for the Medium Green, so didnt get to shoot it last night...but its all set to go when I get home! Much of the Dark Green is also already masked off, so I might get both in tonight! I cant wait to pull all the masking off and see the results.
Unread February 17th, 2011, 10:16 AM
Too many kits....

Looking good man...I am going to get started on my Deamon or i might change it up....

Andy

On the Bench:
Eduard 1/144 Mig 21 MF
Revell 1/32 BF109-G10
Hasegawa 1/200 C-40A Clipper

At some point:
Monogram B-25 turned into a PBJ-1
Unread February 21st, 2011, 11:12 AM