Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums  

Go Back   Zone-Five Aircraft Modeling Forums > The Hobby Room > The Workbench

Notices

Old June 13th, 2010, 09:02 AM

Default Academy 1/48 F-15I

G'day people, I am new to this forum, but I already recognise some of the names in here.

I am not very good with words so I will let the plastic do the talking, pictures being worth a thousand words and all that crap. To begin with, this is what i am currently playing with. It is Academy's 1/48 F-15I kit. The kit is nice, not quite as nice ast the Revell Beagle, but pretty close and you won't need to buy any conversion or weapons sets as it has all the bits as well as Cartograph decals. In fact, this kit is like a weapons set with a Beagle thrown in!

The story so far....

Cockpit

Academy's cockpit does not include any sidewall detail or the blankets on the rear bulkhead of each cockpit nor the WSO's twin joysticks. I added the blankets using foil and scratched up a couple of sticks. The kit decals were added to the MFD's, but the rear MFD decals needed a little trimmings as the larger two were too big.

cheers,

Pappy
Old June 13th, 2010, 09:24 AM

Very Nice!
Old June 13th, 2010, 09:27 AM

Send a message via ICQ to Plastictiger
Default Nice looking cockpit

I just put Euard's color etch in an Academy and yours looks better! http://www.internetmodeler.com/artma...o-Etch-Set.php

Watch the seats, they are really short! Eduard gives you new floor to make up for the seats. I'll have a folowwup on the seats up in a couple of days. The tub is neat, but you might want to replace the seats.

Scott
Old June 13th, 2010, 05:55 PM

That is looking really sweet. That cockpit looks real. I can't wait to see more progress pics. Have you figured what weapons configuration yet. I can't wait to get mine going to. Keep up the awesome work

Cheers Brian
Old June 13th, 2010, 06:32 PM

great work on the pit. How did you do the pattern in the foil?

Calum
Old June 13th, 2010, 08:53 PM

Quote: